Miami-Dade League of Cities



MIAMI DADE COUNTY LEAGUE OF CITIES Est. 1953

Legislative Action Agenda

he Miami-Dade County League of Cities was formed in 1953 for the purpose of assisting its members in cultivating and maintaining the most proficient ways of administering government for the general welfare of the residents and business in the County.

The League's function is not only to protect and preserve home rule, but to provide the organizational framework for our municipalities to work together in a united and coordinated way.

Every city, town and village works in one way or another to deal with other levels of government to ensure a good quality of life for their residents. When cities, towns and villages work in unison with the League, we are more effective. We have a more powerful presence, stronger voice beyond our limited boundaries and provide support countywide.

Richard Kuper, Executive Director

"It's all about our Cities"

Unfunded Mandates on Local Governments

MDCLC supports legislation that strengthens the prohibition on unfunded mandates beyond House and Senate rules, and which improves identification and quantification procedures, eliminates loopholes, and requires full funding of new state mandates to municipalities.

Revenue Caps

MDCLC supports legislation that places artificial revenue caps on levels of government in the State of Florida, if the Taxpayer Bill of Rights (TABOR) proposal addresses the following principles:

- 1. Any revenue cap proposal must include a complete prohibition on unfunded mandates on local governments.
- 2. Any revenue cap proposal must apply to all levels of government in Florida, including the state.
- 3. Any revenue cap proposal must not penalize local governments that have been fiscally frugal.
- 4. Any revenue cap proposal must focus on only on elimination, not all three: overall revenues; as valorem tax revenues; or voter approval of taxes and fees.
- 5. The following revenue sources must be exempt from any revenue cap proposal:

- a. Enterprise funds;
- b. State and federal funds;
- c. Referendum expenditures, if any;
- d. One-time revenues;
- e. Revenues not subject to the control of the receiving government; and
- f. Revenues committed to general obligation bonds.
- 6. Any growth multiplier must be jurisdiction specific and avoid using a stagnant point in time.

ssue Campaign Financing/Prohibition on Local Government Expenditures

MDCLC supports legislation to remove any restrictions on municipalities when making expenditures in issue campaigns.



Municipal Firefighter or Police Officer Pension Plans

MDCLC supports legislation that allows municipalities to use all premium tax revenues from firefighter or police officer pension plans to pay for existing plan benefits.

Foreclosures

MDCLC supports legislation that provides increased preference for municipal liens placed on foreclosed properties.

Miami-Dade County Public Schools Priorities 2010

MDCLC supports legislation that:

- 1. Increases total potential funding per student by at least \$100.00 per student
- 2. Develops and implement a plan to phase-out America's Recovery and Reinvestment Act



- 3. Supports the modification of the class size constitutional amendment to:
 - a. Maintain the accountability measure for the class size calculation at the school-wide average;
 - b. Utilize any savings to improve teacher salaries assisting districts to recruit and retain highly qualified teachers without reducing the percentage of state General Revenue currently earmarked for education;
 - c. Fully fund the operating cost of implementing the amendment; and
 - d. Fully fund the capital outlay costs for implementation.
- 4. Conduct an impartial third-party study to develop a Cost of Education Index that focuses on the cost differences integral to K-12 public school district operations
- 5. Restore the Local Discretionary Capital Outlay levy to 2 mills

MDCLC Legislative Committee

Co-Chairs:

Joseph L. Kelley, Cindy Lerner,

Mayor, City of Opa-Locka Mayor, Village of Pinecrest

Committee Members

- * Mayor Juan Carlos Bermudez
- * Mayor Joyce Davis
- * Mayor Shirley Gibson
- * Councilman Jordan Leonard
- * Councilman Alberto Ruder
- * Councilwoman Phyllis Smith

For more information please contact the Miami-Dade League of Cities office:

Executive Director Richard Kuper, Esq.

226 East Flagler Street, Suite 200 Miami, Fl 33131 Telephone: 305-416-4155 Fax: 305.416.4157

email: mdclc@bellsouth.net



EXECUTIVE BOARD President

HON. MICHAEL BLYNN Councilman, North Miami

First Vice President HON, JUAN C.BERMUDEZ Mayor, City of Doral

Second Vice President HON, LUIS GONZALEZ Councilman, Hialeah

Third Vice President T.B.A

Secretary HON. JOSEPH KELLEY Mayor, City of Opa-Locka

Treasurer HON. DEEDE WEITHORN Commissioner, Miami Beach

Immediate Past President HON. SHIRLEY GIBSON Mayor, City of Miami Gardens

BOARD OF DIRECTORS
HON. ZEV AUERBACH
Commissioner, City of Aventura

HON. JONI BLACHAR Asst. Mayor, Village of Bal Harbour

HON. ILEENE WALLACE Vice Mayor, Town of Bay Harbor Islands

HON. ROXANNA ROSS Mayor, Village of Biscayne Park

HON. RAFAEL CABRERA Commissioner, City of Coral Gables

HON. MICHAEL DIPIETRO Councilman, City of Doral

HON. JOYCE DAVIS Mayor, Village of El Portal

HON. R.S. SHIVER Commissioner, City of Florida City

HON. JUDY LUSSKIN Vice Mayor, Town of Golden Beach

HON. VIVIAN CASALS-MUÑOZ Councilwoman, City of Hialeah

HON. YIOSET DE LA CRUZ Mayor, City of Hialeah Gardens

HON. JON BURGESS Councilman, City of Homestead

T.B.A Village of Indian Creek BOARD OF DIRECTORS, CONTINUED

HON. ROBERT VERNON Mayor, Village of Key Biscayne

HON, RAMON RODRIGUEZ Mayor, Town of Medley

HON. FRANCIS SUAREZ Commissioner, City of Miami

HON. JOSE "PEPE" DIAZ Vice-Chairman, Miami-Dade County

HON, DR. WILBERT "TEE" HOLLOWAY Board Member, Miami-Dade County School Board

HON. JONAH WOLFSON Commissioner, City of Miami Beach

HON. MELVIN L. BRATTON Councilman, City of Miami Gardens

HON. MICHAEL PIZZI Mayor, Town of Miami Lakes

HON. PROSPERO G. HERRERA Councilman, Village of Miami Shores

HON. BILLY BAIN Mayor, City of Miami Springs

HON, DR. PAUL VOGEL Commissioner, City of North Bay Village

HON. ANDRE PIERRE Mayor, City of North Miami

HON. MYRON ROSNER Mayor, City of North Miami Beach

HON. DOROTHY JOHNSON Commissioner, City of Opa-Locka

HON. HOWARD TENDRICH Councilman, Village of Palmetto Bay

HON. CINDY LERNER Mayor, Village of Pinecrest

HON. BRIAN BEASLEY Commissioner, City of South Miami

HON. NORMAN EDELCUP Mayor, City of Sunny Isles Beach

HON. HOWARD WEINBERG Commissioner, Town of Surfside

HON. ORLANDO LOPEZ Commissioner, City of Sweetwater

HON. SPENCER DENO IV Mayor, Village of Virginia Gardens

HON. EDUARDO MUHIÑA Mayor, City of West Miami